The Alchemist

01/11/2010 at 9:51 AM (Adventure, Fable, Spiritual) ()

The Alchemist

Facing a long V-Line journey to Traralgon, I decided to travel from the comfort of my seat to the deserts of The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho.

It was definitely an interesting take on spiritual reading but I think what made it so successful was the simplicity of the language and its attempt to answer the questions everyone is searching the answers to but is afraid to listen to through the travels of an Andalusian shepherd boy.

What did I learn from it?

Everyone has dreams to follow but feel held back by love, the fear of change and conditions of adversity. There are prices to pay before reaping rewards. Patience is an important skill.

1 Comment

  1. fornormalstepfathers said,

    I read this book a couple of years ago and recently got it from the library to re-read. I also recommended it to my 14-year old, to my surprise he read it (he reads a lot, but if I recommend it, it is automatically lame), and liked it a lot.I was moved by his reaction to this book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

