Coming Out of the Closet about V. C. Andrews

10/16/2010 at 11:27 AM (Adventure, Books, Family, Romance) (, , , )

Many people I know claim they only read serious literature especially if they are creative degree students with aspirations to pretentiousness. Otherwise, they are mad about science fiction and anything to do with narcotics.

I am so out of the loop.

While these people bang on about Terry Pratchett whose Hogfather movie had me fall asleep before even one-third of it finished playing, V.C. Andrews and her tales of incestuous tragedy have had me infatuated for years. But I preferred to keep this desire for sordid drama in the closet. It is finally time for me to come out.

It started out with Willow.

Willow ( The De Beers Trilogy Book 1)

But it didn’t stop there. Once I finished savouring the life Willow lives among the residents of Palm Beach where she discovers her true identity , the V. C. Andrews obsession led me to read the sequel, Wicked Forest where the story continues  as Willow gets hitched with all the thrills and frills of opulence. Next in Twisted Roots the continued succession of tragedy strikes Willow’s daughter within the saga as she pursues a singing career on the road. Next I found myself reading Into the Woods where tragedy befalls the daughter of Jackie Lee Houston through her socialite mother’s toyboy. Hidden Leaves on the other hand was pretty much shown to be what Willow’s real father thought fit to tell her after her adoptive parent passed away.

I feel rather bad about reading about the misery suffered by her characters but maybe it’s because you cannot be jealous of her protagonists even if they are beautiful, wealthy and successful. It is fairly clear misfortune will strike at some point and destroy all that harmony anyway.

Then I discovered Heaven which was perhaps the best of hers I have read. It gives us a glimpse of the poor Casteel family and the fate in store for  Heaven which happens to be the name of the title character.

Recently I went to the library and while I was going through the section for Archer, I realised Andrews was on the neighbouring shelf and I ended up borrowing Flowers in the Attic.  Having invented a mother that could be so cruel to her own offspring, I’m not surprised she’s regarded as an occult writer even though you wouldn’t think so from the substance in the content.

Now I can count the following among the V.C. Andrews novels I’ve read-:

The Dollanganger Series: Flowers in the Attic

The Casteel Series: Heaven, Dark Angel, Fallen Hearts, Gates of Paradise

The Cutler Series: Twilight’s Child, Midnight Whispers

The Landry Series: Ruby, Pearl in the Mist, All that Glitters, Hidden Jewel, Tarnished Gold

The Logans Series: Melody, Heart Song, Music in the Night

The Delia Series: Delia’s Crossing, Dealia’s Heart, Delia’s Gift

and I think if I find another V.C. Andrews I have not yet read, I will still enjoy it  even though it cannot ever be classed as serious literature.

Leave a Reply

