The Wild Girl

08/14/2014 at 11:33 AM (Australian Literature, Books, Romance) (, , , , , )

the-wild-girl

Kate Forsyth intrigued me once with her spellbinding retelling of Rapunzel in Bitter Greens. When I saw she authored The Wild Girl, I did not hesitate. This time, she explores the story of Dortchen Wild who is credited as having told many of the fairy tales belonging to the collection of the Brothers Grimm.

Set against the backdrop of the German kingdom of Hessen-Kassel in the early nineteenth century, we learn about boy next door Dortchen fell in love with the first time she saw him, her best friend’s brother, the poor but handsome scholar Wilhelm Grimm, who has returned from Marburg. War interferes in their newly budding romance because Napoleon’s army conquers their kingdom, takes over the palace of the Kurfürst and begins an oppressive regime setting French decrees. So the Grimm brothers embark on a mission to preserve the folk tales of their heritage and publish them in a book.

Dortchen, having grown up in the care of Old Marie, knows several beautiful old stories. These include Hansel and Gretel, The Frog King, All Kinds of Fur and Six Swans. She has to tell them to Wilhelm in secret as her tyrannical father opposes her plans to get married to Wilhelm and as the story progresses we learn it is for the darkest of reasons. Although their ardour deepens, Dortchen has to guard a dark secret but Wilhelm remains mostly oblivious even when she tells him the truth in the guise of a story. For Dortchen, as time passes and all of her sisters find husbands, marriage to Wilhelm seems an unlikely outcome.

Does this teller of fairy tales who has her heart trampled and spirit wounded get her happy ending? You’ll have to read The Wild Girl to find out. This may be a darker forbidden love story but both the protagonists have better fates than Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet.

3 Comments

  1. web developer agency said,

    Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This iis a very well written article.
    I’ll be sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your
    helpful info. Thanks for thhe post. I wilpl definitely return.

    Like

  2. http://margaritacouture.us/vene-varicose-cause-e-cure/ said,

    Have you ever thought about writing an ebook or guest authoring
    on other sites? I have a blog based upon on the same ideas you discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information. I know
    my readers would enjoy your work. If you’re
    even remotely interested, feel free to shoot me an e mail.

    Like

  3. youjizz said,

    Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after looking at many of the
    posts I realized it’s new to me. Nonetheless, I’m definitely
    happy I discovered it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back regularly!

    Like

Leave a Reply

